Students matter @ Mott Library! Celebrate National Library Week, April 15-19

CarolineKennedy_NLW13_Leaderboard

This week, Mott Library joins libraries in schools, campuses and communities nationwide in celebrating National Library Week, a time to highlight the value of libraries, librarians and library workers.

Libraries today are more than repositories for books. They are the heart of their community. Libraries provide space and a wide range of resources to help foster all types of communities.

We see this at Mott Library firsthand, in big ways and small:

  • Students meet up to collaborate on projects in the group study rooms, or hang out between classes in the comfortable seating areas on the first floor.
  • Faculty members bring their classes over to select books to read or to find articles for their course assignments.
  • Tutors meet with students to help them study and reinforce classroom learning.
  • Students ask questions online using our Get Help service, or read our Facebook page to find out what’s happening today at the library.
  • Students in the first floor lab get individualized help from the library lab assistants.
  • Librarians consult one-on-one with students and faculty to assist them with their research needs.

Stop by the Mott Library circulation desk during National Library Week to select a bookmark and enjoy some candy.

Play our online library trivia game between April 15-19 and have a chance to win one of four prizes!

2013MottLibraryTriviaGameTrivia Game Winners

Trivia game winners will be drawn on Monday, April 22. Winners will be contacted and are expected to pick up their prize by Friday, May 3. Anyone can play the trivia game, but only currently enrolled MCC students are eligible to win prizes.

One Grand prize:

  • $25 gift card to MCC’s bookstore.
  • The winner will be randomly selected from entries that have ALL CORRECT ANSWERS.

Three participation prizes:

  • Three winners will be randomly selected from all entries.
  • Each winner will receive one $5 gift card.
  • Participants do NOT need to have correct answers to be eligible to win.

Over 80 attended Prince Among Slaves viewing

PASviewing_March27_2013Over 80 MCC students and community members attended the Prince Among Slaves viewing held on March 27, 2013, in the RTC Auditorium. Professor Brian Harding set the stage for the documentary with a brief lecture about Islamic West Africa, and following the documentary, provided 10 observations about Abdul Rahman Ibrahima Sori and the time in which he lived.

20130327_130022MCC employees and students can check out the DVD or book of Prince Among Slaves at the Mott Library or watch it online from Films on Demand. Copies of Professor Harding’s lecture and observations will be available soon for checkout.

This event highlights materials in a collection awarded to the Mott Library from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Muslim Journeys bookshelf. The bookshelf includes 25 books and 3 films selected to familiarize public audiences in the United States with the people, places, history, faith and cultures of Muslims in the United States and around the world. Learn more about the materials and themes of this collection in our Muslim Journeys LibGuide.

Prince Among Slaves lecture, viewing, discussion

Prince Among Slaves: Lecture, Screening, and Discussion

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

12:45-2:30 p.m.

Mott Community College, RTC Auditorium

Professor Brian Harding, guest lecturer/moderator

The Mott Library, with support from campus and community partners, will host a screening of Prince Among Slaves, a documentary about Abdul Rahman Ibrahima Sori, an African Muslim prince who was captured in 1788 and spent 40 years in slavery in the American South before finally regaining his freedom. MCC Professor, Brian Harding, will introduce the documentary with a brief history of Islamic West Africa, and will moderate a discussion following the viewing.

This event is free and open to the public. Space is limited. RSVP by Friday, March 22 to Kathy Irwin, 810-762-0415 or kathy.irwin@mcc.edu.

PrinceAmongSlavesViewing

Mott Library hosts traveling exhibit about Arab Americans and religion

November 26 through December 14, Mott Library is hosting a traveling exhibit from the Arab American National Museum displaying information about Arab Americans and religion. The exhibit consists of two tri-fold panels: one displays information regarding Christianity, Judaism, and Islam; and the other describes different holidays celebrated in those religions. The exhibit is open to the public and may be viewed during Mott Library’s normal operating hours

The three major monotheistic religions of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam all originated in what is known today as the Arab world. Monotheism means “the belief in only one God.” Throughout history, these religions have spread from their birthplace, crossing the boundaries of race and ethnicity, with followers in nearly every country in the world.

The Arab American National Museum also hosts online versions of these exhibits: Three Faiths with One God and Arab American Religion

Tuesday Trivia, Round 4 Questions & Answers

Round 4 began on Tuesday, Oct. 30, and ended at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 2.

Thanks to everyone who played! The winner will be drawn Wednesday, Nov. 7.

Read Tuesday Trivia guidelines and rules

Round 4 is now closed. Here are the answers:

1. Who was the oldest person elected as U.S. President?
Franklin D. Roosevelt
Ronald Reagan
Ulysses S. Grant
Zachary Taylor

2. Who was the youngest person elected as U.S. President?
Barack Obama
John Quincy Adams
John F. Kennedy
Theodore Roosevelt

3. Which presidential candidate won the popular vote but not enough electoral votes?
Grover Cleveland in 1888
Samuel Tilden in 1876
Al Gore in 2000
Andrew Jackson in 1824
All of the above

4. Showcase bonus question: What is the largest word in the display?

VOTE

Rollins Captivates Audience with her Stories

On October 17, local author and retired MCC professor, Kathleen Rollins, shared the back story of her novel, Misfits and Heroes: West from Africa, at an event co-sponsored by the Center for Teaching and Learning and the Friends of Mott Library. Rollins delighted the audience with stories of her travels and research about ancient civilization. It all began decades ago when she and a friend became lost and dehydrated in the Four Corners area of the Southwest. She stumbled upon ancient rock art and began her journey to understand who created it. Her research has included theories of human migration, the importance and role of storytellers, the development of counting to measure wealth and time, games and competitions, food gathering and preparation, and early navigation. Rollins gave the audience an opportunity to practice Sona sand drawing while she read aloud from her novel.

Misfits and Heroes was chosen as one of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Indie Books of 2011. The heroes in the book are not perfect. Through a series of misadventures, they become accidental explorers. The stories told throughout the novel help the characters endure hardships, remember significant events, and learn important lessons.

Readers who enjoyed Misfits and Heroes will be glad to know that a second book in the series, Past the Last Island, will be released next month. This book follows the story of Polynesian navigators who are experiencing climate change at the end of the ice age. Due to massive flooding, the characters seek out another place to live, traveling beyond their known world. Rollins is in the process of writing the third book in the series.

Rollins taught composition and literature at Mott Community College for more than thirty years. An avid traveler, she has visited North, Central, and South America, the British Isles, Europe, Africa, and Australia. You can learn more about Rollins’ research by reading her blog, http://misfitsandheroes.wordpress.com/.

Author Visit: Caitlin Rollins, Misfits and Heroes: West from Africa

Please join the Friends of the Mott Library and the Center for Teaching and Learning to hear Caitlin Rollins speak about her book, Misfits and Heroes: West from Africa, on Wednesday, October 17, from 12 noon to 1:30 p.m. in room ML 3106.

Ms. Rollins, a retired MCC faculty member, will answer questions about the story, describe her writing process, and sign copies of her book. Attendees can purchase a copy of book online at Amazon or Barnes & Noble, and copies will be available for purchase at the event.

Making Michigan Memories

Michigan is filled with fascinating stories, natural beauty, and famous and infamous people. What are some of your favorite Michigan stories or memories?

• Going up north
• Buying your first American made car
• Driving or walking across the Mackinac Bridge
• Visiting a local museum
• Driving through the country on a fall color tour
• Watching the Tigers, Red Wings, Lions, or Pistons beat the competition
• Climbing the dunes at Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore
• Visiting one of Michigan’s 124 lighthouses
• Listening to your favorite Motown hits
• Skiing at Boyne Mountain
• Taking a wine tour
• Dipping your toes in one of the four Great Lakes that border our state
• Picking apples from your local orchard
• Being a student at Mott Community College or any of our state’s many colleges and universities

Next time you’re in the library, take a moment to enjoy our display celebrating Michigan’s history, culture, and natural wonders. Check out one of nearly 500 books about Michigan from our library’s collection. Take a walk down memory lane or plan a new adventure. Need inspiration? Take a look at Pure Michigan’s list of events and things to do.

Doc Fletcher entertains audience

The Friends of Mott Library sponsored a Michigan author visit on Tuesday, October 18. Doc Fletcher, an avid paddler, shared beautiful photos and entertaining stories about canoeing and kayaking in Michigan and Wisconsin rivers. Doc sold signed copies of his books and gave away free canoe or kayak trips to two lucky attendees. The event was attended by 47 community members and members of our campus community.

Michigan Author Doc Fletcher Presents at Mott Library Oct. 18

Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Noon-1:00 pm
CTL, ML 3106

Please join us on Tuesday, October 18, from noon-1:00 pm as PBS-featured Michigan author Doc Fletcher presents “Paddling Across Michigan and Wisconsin”. You’ll enjoy an hour-long photographic journey down rivers selected from his books. Take a virtual tour down several rivers and hear what makes each of those rivers uniquely fun!

At the end of the program will be a drawing for a “free canoe or kayak trip”, good for a day trip down one of Michigan’s or Wisconsin’s rivers. After the drawing, Doc will sign and sell copies of his books.

Visit Doc’s website for more information about canoeing Michigan’s rivers.

Read articles about Doc in the Flint Journal:
Michigan author ‘Doc’ Fletcher, who paddled the Flint River in May, speaks at Mott Community College this month
A trip down the Flint River: Author “Doc” Fletcher says the canoeing trip is something he would do again

This event is open to the public and is sponsored by the Friends of Mott Library.

Doc Fletcher

Doc Fletcher













Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: